Department of Health

Capability frameworks for clinical services

Capability frameworks are being developed for major clinical streams in Victoria's health system in response to recommendations arising from Targeting zero, the review of hospital safety and quality assurance in Victoria (Duckett, 2016). This review found that the Department of Health and Human Services had failed to provide adequate oversight of quality and safety of health services and in its role as system manager of Victoria's public health services.

The staged introduction of a role delineation framework for the Victorian health system, underpinned by a suite of capability frameworks, is a key action of the Statewide design, service and infrastructure plan for Victoria's health system 2017-2037.

Each capability framework has had input from public health services, private hospitals, professional associations and unions, peak bodies, Safer Care Victoria, relevant clinical networks and a number of business units internal to the department.

The department is developing and implementing capability frameworks for the following clinical streams:

  • renal services
  • urgent, emergency and trauma services
  • surgical and procedural services
  • cardiac services.

Capability frameworks:

  • describe the clinical services and complexity that can be safely managed by health services against 6 levels
  • describe the workforce skills, infrastructure, equipment, clinical support services and clinical governance needed
  • are a common language for staff, the community and other health services about a local hospital's capability
  • assist the planning and service development at the local, regional and system levels.

Capability frameworks are used in the Victorian maternity and newborn system.

Relevant documents and information for the four clinical streams will be placed on the webpage for each stream as they are developed or released.

Core capability frameworks

Five 'core' capability frameworks are also being developed, led by the department. They are:

  • critical and intensive care
  • anaesthetics
  • pharmacy and medicines management
  • pathology
  • medical imaging and nuclear medicine.

Key craft groups are being consulted on the drafts and they will be released for sector for wider consultation in October 2019. Once they finalised they will be publicly released and implemented in stages from January 2020.

For more information on the implementation of the core frameworks, please visit the Capability frameworks for Victorian hospital core services section.


Reviewed 21 April 2022


Contact details

Capability frameworks

Was this page helpful?