Department of Health

Automatic mutual recognition

What is automatic mutual recognition?

Automatic mutual recognition (AMR) allows a person who is licensed or registered for an occupation in one jurisdiction to be considered licensed or registered to perform the same activities in another jurisdiction, without the need to go through further application processes or pay additional fees.

AMR aims to make it easier for workers who need to be licensed or registered for their job to work in another state and territory.

When will automatic mutual recognition be available?

AMR for occupational licences has been available from 1 July 2021 in certain states and territories.

Victoria entered the scheme on 1 July 2021.

The Commonwealth Government advises that, in addition to Victoria:

  • New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory entered the scheme on or about 1 July 2021.
  • Tasmania entered the scheme on 22 December 2021.
  • South Australia entered the scheme on 1 February 2022.
  • Western Australia entered the scheme on 24 March 2022.
  • Queensland has not yet entered the scheme.

How does it work?

  • The work you are licensed to undertake in your home state, you may now be able to do in other states and territories without the need to apply and pay fees for a second licence.
  • AMR means that workers who need to be licensed or registered for their job in their home state can apply for and accept work opportunities in another state or territory more easily.
  • AMR makes it easier for licensed or registered workers to apply for and take up work opportunities in another state or territory.
  • AMR provides safeguards to maintain standards and protect consumers, workers and others.

Who is eligible for AMR?

Victorian use licence holders, approved testers and approved assessors are generally eligible, but you will need to check that the other jurisdiction has fully entered the AMR scheme before you start work in the second jurisdiction. Some jurisdictions have entered the scheme but have made temporary exemptions for some licensing schemes to allow work to be done to prepare for the new system.

What does this mean?

If Victoria is your home state, and you hold a current Victorian use licence or a radiation source testers approval or a security plan assessors' approval and you wish to work interstate, working via AMR is currently available in:

  • Northern Territory.

And from 1 July 2022 in:

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • New South Wales (with the exception of Victorian-based approved testers who will need to contact NSW Environment Protection Authority directly to confirm requirements under existing mutual recognition arrangements)
  • Tasmania
  • South Australia
  • Western Australia

If your home is outside Victoria, you hold a current radiation licence that permits the use of one or more classes of radiation source, and you wish to work in Victoria, then working via AMR is currently available to residents of:

  • Northern Territory
  • New South Wales
  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Tasmania
  • South Australia
  • Western Australia.

Additional conditions for workers who wish to operate in Victoria using AMR

Workers must hold a licence or registration in their home state. You must notify the Victorian Department of Health Radiation Team prior to commencing work in Victoria.

Your scope of work in Victoria is generally limited to the scope of work in your home jurisdiction. An exception to this rule is for approved testers of radiation sources. You will need to become familiar with the types of sources that are required to be tested in Victoria.

You must also comply with the Radiation Act 2005 and associated Radiation Regulations 2017.

What happens if my licence in my home jurisdiction expires?

If your home jurisdiction licence expires then AMR no longer applies in any other jurisdiction.

What happens if I am subject to disciplinary, civil, or criminal actions in relation to the activity authorised by my licence?

Non-compliance against state or territory laws or licence conditions on a home state or territory licence/registration can lead to suspension or cancellation of the person’s right to work in the second state or territory.

Mandatory notification of intention to work in Victoria

AMR is a new system, and we strongly encourage you to contact the Radiation Team to confirm your eligibility.

Any worker eligible to work in Victoria under the new AMR arrangements must then notify the Radiation Team by completing the online formExternal Link prior to working in Victoria.

Please note that AHPRA registration is not sufficient to use for the new AMR arrangements.

In January 2022 the Victorian Acting Minister for Health extended the mandatory notification requirement of intention to work in Victoria until at least 2032.

General information

Licensed workers and businesses can find out more information about automatic mutual recognition by visiting Improving occupational mobility | Deregulation ( Link or call the Radiation Team to discuss.

Reviewed 01 July 2022


Was this page helpful?