Department of Health

The role of LPHUs

Victoria's Local Public Health Units (LPHUs) work with the Department of Health (the department) to keep their local communities healthy, safe and well. They use local knowledge, community-based relationships and direct engagement to effectively tailor and deliver public health initiatives and respond to incidents and issues within their local area.

LPHUs were established in 2020 during the COVID-19 pandemic to manage local cases and outbreaks of COVID-19. From July 2022 LPHUs have begun undertaking additional public health responsibilities for various other notifiable conditions.

LPHUs administer programs for disease prevention and population health. This includes responding to COVID-19 and other infectious disease case investigations, outbreaks and public health programs that impact their region.

Medical practitioners and pathology departments are still required to notify conditions to the department in accordance with the Public Health and Wellbeing Act 2008. On notification, the department will manage public health follow-up, or allocate it to the relevant LPHU.

LPHUs work closely with their local health services, primary and community health services, other state government agencies and local government and local communities. This community work includes follow on from the Primary Care Partnerships (PCP) ProgramExternal Link

Although LPHUs are led by health services, they do not provide urgent medical care or treatment advice.

Patients who are unwell should contact their general practitioner or local health service. In an emergency, call Triple Zero (000).

LPHUs in Victoria

Metropolitan LPHUs

  • North Eastern Public Health Unit (led by Austin Health)
  • South East Public Health Unit (led by Monash Health)
  • Western Public Health Unit (led by Western Health)

Regional LPHUs

  • Barwon South West (led by Barwon Health)
  • Goulburn Valley (led by Goulburn Valley Health)
  • Gippsland (led by Latrobe Regional Hospital)
  • Grampians (led by Grampians Health)
  • Ovens Murray (led by Albury Wodonga Health)
  • Loddon Mallee (led by Bendigo Health)

Map and LPHU catchments

Each LPHU is responsible for activities across a number of local government areas (LGAs) – its catchment. Taken together, the catchments of the 9 LPHUs cover all of Victoria.

The LGAs within each LPHU’s catchment are listed below.

Barwon South West Public Health Unit

  • Borough of Queenscliffe
  • City of Greater Geelong
  • City of Warrnambool
  • Colac-Otway Shire Council
  • Corangamite Shire
  • Golden Plains Shire
  • Glenelg Shire
  • Moyne Shire
  • Southern Grampians
  • Surf Coast Shire Council

Goulburn Valley Public Health Unit

  • Benalla Rural City
  • City of Greater Shepparton
  • Mansfield Shire
  • Mitchell Shire
  • Moira Shire
  • Murrindindi Shire
  • Strathbogie Shire

Gippsland Public Health Unit

  • Bass Coast Shire
  • Baw Baw Shire
  • City of Latrobe
  • East Gippsland Shire
  • South Gippsland Shire
  • Wellington Shire

Grampians Public Health Unit

  • Ararat Rural City
  • Central Goldfields Shire
  • City of Ballarat
  • Hepburn Shire
  • Hindmarsh Shire
  • Horsham Rural City
  • Moorabool Shire
  • Northern Grampians Shire
  • Pyrenees Shire
  • West Wimmera Shire
  • Yarriambiack Shire

Ovens Murray Public Health Unit

  • Alpine Shire
  • City of Wodonga
  • Indigo Shire
  • Towong Shire
  • Wangaratta Rural City

Loddon Mallee Public Health Unit

  • Campaspe Shire
  • City of Greater Bendigo
  • Loddon Shire
  • Macedon Ranges Shire
  • Mount Alexander Shire
  • Buloke Shire
  • Gannawarra Shire
  • Mildura Rural City
  • Swan Hill Rural City

North Eastern Public Health Unit

  • City of Banyule
  • City of Boroondara
  • City of Darebin
  • City of Hume (excluding Melbourne Airport*)
  • City of Knox
  • City of Manningham
  • City of Maroondah
  • City of Whitehorse
  • City of Whittlesea
  • City of Yarra
  • Yarra Ranges Shire
  • Nillumbik Shire

South East Public Health Unit

  • Cardinia Shire
  • City of Bayside
  • City of Casey
  • City of Frankston
  • City of Glen Eira
  • City of Greater Dandenong
  • City of Kingston
  • City of Monash
  • City of Port Phillip
  • City of Stonnington
  • Mornington Peninsula Shire

Western Public Health Unit

  • City of Brimbank
  • City of Hobsons Bay
  • City of Maribyrnong
  • City of Melbourne
  • City of Melton
  • City of Moonee Valley
  • City of Merri-bek
  • City of Wyndham

*The Western Public Health Unit also includes the geographical area comprising Melbourne Airport.

Reviewed 07 November 2023


Contact us

Statewide Leadership Team

Was this page helpful?