Department of Health

Re-entry pathway scholarships for nurses and midwives

Learn who is eligible for the re-entry pathway and how to apply.

The Department of Health is offering scholarships for up to 25 registered nurses and midwives a year to return to practice via the re-entry pathway.

The re-entry pathway supports those who have previously held registration as a registered nurse or midwife in Australia, but do not meet the current requirements of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) to hold registration.

These nurses and midwives are required to complete a NMBA approved re-entry to practice program to return to clinical practice in Australia.

The funding support will contribute to course costs and associated living expenses during your study, including while completing clinical placements.


Funding will be allocated to eligible individuals who complete an NMBA approved re-entry to practice program. Funding for 25 scholarships per year will be available for 4 years.

The total scholarship value is $15,000 per successful candidate. This will be provided in 1 instalment to the successful candidates.

Registered nurses and midwives interested in applying for the scholarship must meet the requirements of the NMBA Re-entry to practice policy. It is recommended nurses and midwives engage with the NMBA to determine the most appropriate re-entry pathway for their circumstances.

Registered nurses and midwives must successfully apply for an eligible re-entry to practice program of study. You must meet the entry criteria and pre-requisites for the chosen program:

Students are responsible for organising associated course payments to their chosen education provider by the due date (including up-front payments or deferral by HECS-HELP/FEE-HELP loan). Students are also responsible for any course and study costs incurred beyond the value of the scholarship.

Scholarships will be administered twice a year. To receive a scholarship, you will be required to provide proof of course offer and other relevant information, for example, evidence of clinical nursing or midwifery experience.

More detailed information about how scholarship payments will be made to eligible students will be available in 2023.



To be eligible for the re-entry to practice scholarships, you must:

  • be a domestic student. For the purposes of this scholarship this is defined as:
    • an Australian citizen
    • a New Zealand citizen (or dual citizenship holders of either Australia or New Zealand)  
    • an Australian permanent resident, or 
    • an Australian permanent humanitarian visa holder  
  • have previously been registered in Australia and have had at least 2 years of relevant Australian clinical registered nursing or midwifery experience
  • meet the requirements outlined in the NMBA Re-entry to practice policy that requires you to complete a re-entry program of study to regain registered nursing or midwifery registration
  • meet the prerequisite/entry requirements specified by the university for the chosen re-entry program
  • successfully apply and enrol in an eligible re-entry to practice program of study
  • currently reside in Victoria or a border community (see under 'More information for applicants'). It's acknowledged that midwifery re-entry programs are only offered interstate and, as such, students may reside interstate while undertaking the program. However, you must be a Victorian resident at the time of your application for the program of study and scholarship
  • not have previously received a department scholarship to study in registered nursing or midwifery
  • be committed to work in nursing or midwifery at the completion of the course within a Victorian public health service.


To be eligible for re-entry to practice scholarships, the program of study must meet the following criteria:

How to apply

More detailed information about how to apply including timing, the selection process and how scholarship payments are allocated will be available in 2023.

It is expected, however, that at a minimum you will be required to submit an application outlining your:

  • current circumstances
  • reasons for wanting to return to nursing and midwifery
  • commitment to employment in the Victorian public health system.

More information for applicants

If you are successful in gaining a scholarship, you are responsible for enrolling in and completing the program of study in line with course requirements.

You are responsible for organising associated payments to your chosen education provider by the due date (including up-front payments or deferral by HECS-HELP/FEE-HELP loan) and for any study costs incurred beyond the value of the scholarship.

The department is not required to withhold tax (PAYG) from scholarships paid. You should be aware:

The department strongly recommends that recipients seek independent tax advice for their scholarship payment.

  • Border community regions align with those specified during the COVID-19 pandemic as follows.

    New South Wales

    • Balranald Shire
    • Bega Valley Shire
    • Berrigan Shire
    • City of Albury
    • City of Broken Hill
    • City of Wagga Wagga
    • Edward River Council
    • Federation Council
    • Greater Hume Shire
    • Hay Shire
    • Lockhart Shire
    • Murray River Council
    • Murrumbidgee Council
    • Snowy Monaro Regional Council
    • Snowy Valleys Council
    • Wentworth Shire

    Note: The Silver City Highway between the Broken Hill and Wentworth Local Government Areas is part of the NSW-Victoria border bubble.

    South Australia

    • Berri Barmera Council
    • City of Mount Gambier
    • District Council of Grant
    • District Council of Loxton Waikerie
    • District Council of Robe
    • Kingston District Council
    • Naracoorte Lucindale Council
    • Renmark Paringa Council
    • Southern Mallee District Council
    • Tatiara District Council
    • Wattle Range Council

Reviewed 08 January 2023


Contact Us

Nursing and Midwifery Workforce

Was this page helpful?