Department of Health

Specialist clinics provide planned, non-admitted services for people who need the focus of an acute setting to ensure the best outcomes. Specialist clinics provide an interface between primary care services and acute inpatient services, with access to:

  • medical, nursing, midwifery and allied health professionals for assessment, diagnosis and treatment
  • ongoing specialist management of chronic and complex conditions in collaboration with community providers
  • pre and post-hospital care
  • maternity care
  • related diagnostic services such as pathology and imaging.

Patients are referred to specialist clinics by general practitioners (GPs), specialists and other community-based healthcare providers, as well as clinicians in emergency departments, inpatient units and other areas of the hospital.

Specialist assessment services - Health Independence Program

The Health Independence Program (HIP) incorporates specialist clinics for continence, cognition, falls, movement, chronic pain, chronic wound, polio and young people with complex medical needs, as well as specialist assessment services for residential aged care clients and clients with chronic and complex needs.

Reviewed 04 October 2015


Was this page helpful?