Department of Health

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the Commission) is responsible under the national Health Reform Act 2011 for the formulation of standards relating to health care safety and quality matters and for formulating and coordinating national models of accreditation for health service organisations.

All Victorian public health services, including metropolitan (this includes specialist and denominational health services), regional, subregional, local and small rural and multi-purpose services, clinical mental health services provided by public health services (including Forensicare), public dental housed within health or community health services, and Bush Nursing Centres, must undergo regular assessments to maintain their accreditation through the Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation Scheme (AHSSQA).

The Commission worked closely with partners to introduce revisions to the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards, that were first implemented in 2013. All health services that are accredited under the scheme will transition to the second edition of the NSQHS standards from 1 January 2019. The NSQHS Standards (second edition) comprises of eight standards that ensure all health services have rigorous and consistent safety and quality systems.

The Department of Health and Human Services (the department) is the Regulator and is responsible for monitoring the accreditation status of health service organisations, and to address and resolve issues, concerns, recommendations and instances of non-compliance with increased performance monitoring and intervention, including possible action under the Health Services Act 1988, Mental Health Act 2014, or terms of the Funded Organisation Performance Monitoring Framework (for Bush Nursing Centres, Community Health Services, and other providers not included in the Health Services Act 1988).

Reviewed 08 December 2021


Contact details

For information and assistance about public hospital accreditation

Regulator Department of Health

Was this page helpful?