Department of Health

Key messages

  • Victorian health service organisations transition to the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (second edition) from 1 January 2019.
  • The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care’s (the Commission) website provides information regarding requirements needed to meet the NSQHS Standards (second edition).
  • Several online resources are available to assist healthcare organisations to comply with the NSQHS Standards (second edition).

The Department of Health and Human Services (the department) links to online resources to help health service organisations prepare for accreditation against the NSQHS Standards (second edition). The Commission’s website provides information regarding the eight standards and information designed to help health service managers align their quality improvement programs with the NSQHS standards (second edition) framework, and includes implementation resources and guides for consumers.

The information is available on the:

Reviewed 20 January 2019


Contact details

For information and assistance about public hospital accreditation

Regulator Department of Health & Human Services

Was this page helpful?