Department of Health

Food safety audits and assessments

All class 1 and some class 2 food premises are required to have their food safety programs audited. Approved auditors are the only people who can perform food safety audits.

Class 2 premises that use a department-registered food safety program template do not need their program audited. However, they do require an annual assessment to ensure that they are using the correct template and complying with the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code. The annual assessment is performed by a council environmental health officer.

Reviewed 20 September 2022


Contact details

Food Safety Unit

Was this page helpful?