Department of Health

As of 1 July 2021 the National Weighted Activity Unit (NWAU) developed as part of the National Funding Model is used to determine funding for health services. These include acute admitted care, subacute care, emergency care and non-admitted care activity. It replaces local funding models (WIES, SWIES, WASE, NAESGs).

Health Services Data (HSD) provides resources to help health services make this transition. The resources on this page explain the process to map Victorian specifications to the Independent Hospital Pricing Authority (IHPA) specifications and the NWAU reports available to health services. You can also find answers to frequently asked questions about NWAU reports.

Note: the document Mapping to IHPA to calculate NWAU should be read before downloading the Victorian mapping for NWAU 2021-22 (xlsx).

Reviewed 10 June 2022


Contact us

Data Collections Unit Health Services Data

Was this page helpful?