Department of Health

Key messages

  • The counselling priority tool determines a person’s need for counselling and then their priority level.
  • The tool identifies three categories: immediate response; high priority; medium/low priority.

The community health priority tools are part of the Department of Health & Human Services program to improve access to community health services.

Counselling priority tool

The counselling priority tool prioritises people for community health counselling services.

Intake workers who are not counsellors

Intake workers who are not counsellors must advise clients they are not the counsellor and should not discuss the client’s problems in depth.

Services covered by this tool

The counselling priority tool covers all community health counselling services, such as supportive counselling, therapy, practical support, advocacy and referral to other services. It covers one-to-one and group services.

When CHSs should use this tool

CHSs should use the counselling priority tool after they have applied the generic priority tool. It can be used with other eligibility tools.

Priority categories for this tool

The counselling priority tool has three priority categories:

  • Immediate response: These people should be seen immediately, because the safety or wellbeing of the person or others is at risk.
  • High priority: These people should be seen as soon as possible, because a significant delay in providing a service will worsen the situation.
  • Medium/low priority: These people will have the longest wait for an appointment. They have interim supports and their situation is stable.

How the tool works

The counselling priority tool collects information about the person, either from the person directly or from referral documentation. This counselling priority tool in Community health priority tools clearly explains the three priority categories.

Reviewed 29 May 2015


Was this page helpful?