Department of Health

The Bureau of Meteorology issues heatwave warnings before and during severe and extreme heatwaves in Victoria. Find out more about the Bureau’s heatwave warning system

National heatwave warning system 

The Bureau of Meteorology issues heatwave warnings when 10 per cent or more of a weather district is in a severe or extreme heatwave.  

It is based on 3 days of unusually high maximum and minimum temperatures for that location.  

They use 3 heatwave categories based on intensity:

  • low-intensity
  • severe
  • extreme.   

According to the Bureau during these events, the following risks apply.

  • Low-intensity heatwaves - Most people can cope 
  • Severe heatwaves - Vulnerable people at risk
  • Extreme heatwaves - everyone is  at risk, even people who are healthy

Heat warnings are available on the Bureau of Meteorology website, the Bureau of Meteorology app, and their telephone service (1300 978 022).    

More information on these categories and how the Bureau calculates the heatwave forecast is available via the Bureau of Meteorology website.

Heat health warning

We use the Bureau's severe and extreme heatwave warnings and will issue a heat health warning (formerly a heat health alert).

A heat health warning notifies the community, local governments, hospitals, health and community services of the risk and likely impact on people's health.  

The Chief Health Officer may also issue a heat health warning when they consider forecast temperatures pose a health risk for example a single day of extremely high temperatures.

Find your forecast district

The following list shows all the local government areas in Victoria and what forecast district they belong to.

    • Ballarat City
    • Banyule City
    • Bass Coast Shire
    • Bayside City
    • Boroondara City
    • Brimbank City
    • Cardinia Shire
    • Casey City
    • Darebin City
    • Frankston City
    • French Island
    • Glen Eira City
    • Golden Plains
    • Greater Dandenong City
    • Greater Geelong City
    • Hepburn Shire
    • Hobsons Bay City
    • Hume City
    • Kingston City
    • Knox City
    • Macedon Ranges Shire
    • Manningham City
    • Maribyrnong City
    • Maroondah City
    • Melbourne City
    • Melton Shire
    • Monash City
    • Moonee Valley City
    • Moorabool Shire
    • Moreland City
    • Mornington Peninsula Shire
    • Nillumbik Shire
    • Port Phillip City
    • Queenscliffe Borough
    • Stonnington City
    • Surf Coast Shire
    • Whitehorse City
    • Whittlesea City
    • Wyndham City
    • Yarra City
    • Yarra Ranges Shire
    • East Gippsland Shire
    • Buloke Shire
    • Gannawarra Shire
    • Mildura Rural City
    • Swan Hill Rural City
    • Yarriambiack Shire (north of the netting fence)
    • Central Goldfields Shire
    • Lake Mountain Alpine Resort
    • Mitchell Shire
    • Mount Alexander Shire
    • Murrindindi Shire
    • Alpine Shire
    • Benalla Rural City
    • Falls Creek Alpine Resort
    • Indigo Shire
    • Mansfield Shire
    • Mount Buller Alpine Resort
    • Mount Hotham Alpine Resort
    • Mount Stirling Alpine Resort
    • Towong Shire
    • Wangaratta Rural City
    • Wodonga City
    • Campaspe Shire
    • Greater Bendigo City
    • Greater Shepparton City
    • Loddon Shire
    • Moira Shire
    • Strathbogie Shire
    • Ararat Rural City
    • Colac Otway Shire
    • Corangamite Shire
    • Glenelg Shire
    • Moyne Shire
    • Pyrenees Shire
    • Southern Grampians Shire
    • Warrnambool City
    • Baw Baw Shire
    • Latrobe City
    • Mount Baw Baw Alpine Resort
    • South Gippsland Shire
    • Wellington Shire
    • Hindmarsh Shire
    • Horsham Rural City
    • Northern Grampians Shire
    • West Wimmera Shire
    • Yarriambiack Shire (south of the netting fence)

Map of Victorian forecast districts

View a map of Victorian districts below or access the map website.

Reviewed 16 January 2023


Contact details

Emergency Management Branch

Was this page helpful?