Department of Health

The Department of Health is continuing a focus on quality in the Home and Community Care Program for Younger People (HACC PYP). It aims to ensure high-quality services with a focus on consumer rights.

The quality system has three components: Home Care Common Standards, Statement of rights and responsibilities, HACC PYP complaints policy.

Home Care Common Standards

The Home Care Common Standards, formerly known as Community Care Common Standards (CCCS), apply to the HACC PYP and Commonwealth funded aged care programs.

The home care standards are:

  • effective management
  • appropriate access and service delivery
  • service user rights and responsibilities.

Information about the standards and expected outcomes, the quality review tools and processes, and related documents are available from the Home Care Common Standards - Australian Aged Care Quality AgencyExternal Link .

Statement of rights and responsibilities

The statement aims to ensure people receiving services, and funded service providers, know their rights and responsibilities, and can confidently exercise them.

HACC Program for Younger People complaints policy

Service providers and administering government departments have policies to inform people of their right to complain. They also have procedures to resolve complaints.

Reviewed 23 November 2023


Contact details

For information about the Home and Community Care Program for Younger People

Was this page helpful?