Department of Health

The Department of Health heat health alert system notifies local governments, departmental program areas, hospitals, and statewide or major metropolitan health and community service providers of forecast heatwave conditions that are likely to impact on human health.

The department has identified temperature thresholds for Victoria above which heat-related illness and mortality increases substantially.

Throughout summer, the department monitors the Bureau of Meteorology seven-day forecast maximum and minimum temperatures. When the heat health temperature threshold is reached in a specific weather forecast district, the department issues a heat health alert.

Heat health alert

More information

Map of Victorian forecast districts

View a map of Victorian districts below or access the map website. A list of local government areas is also provided further below.

Find your forecast district

The following list shows all the local government areas in Victoria and what forecast district they belong to.

List of local government authorities by forecast district

    • Ballarat City
    • Banyule City
    • Bass Coast Shire
    • Bayside City
    • Boroondara City
    • Brimbank City
    • Cardinia Shire
    • Casey City
    • Darebin City
    • Frankston City
    • French Island
    • Glen Eira City
    • Golden Plains
    • Greater Dandenong City
    • Greater Geelong City
    • Hepburn Shire
    • Hobsons Bay City
    • Hume City
    • Kingston City
    • Knox City
    • Macedon Ranges Shire
    • Manningham City
    • Maribyrnong City
    • Maroondah City
    • Melbourne City
    • Melton Shire
    • Monash City
    • Moonee Valley City
    • Moorabool Shire
    • Moreland City
    • Mornington Peninsula Shire
    • Nillumbik Shire
    • Port Phillip City
    • Queenscliffe Borough
    • Stonnington City
    • Surf Coast Shire
    • Whitehorse City
    • Whittlesea City
    • Wyndham City
    • Yarra City
    • Yarra Ranges Shire
    • East Gippsland Shire
    • Buloke Shire
    • Gannawarra Shire
    • Mildura Rural City
    • Swan Hill Rural City
    • Yarriambiack Shire (north of the netting fence)
    • Central Goldfields Shire
    • Lake Mountain Alpine Resort
    • Mitchell Shire
    • Mount Alexander Shire
    • Murrindindi Shire
    • Alpine Shire
    • Benalla Rural City
    • Falls Creek Alpine Resort
    • Indigo Shire
    • Mansfield Shire
    • Mount Buller Alpine Resort
    • Mount Hotham Alpine Resort
    • Mount Stirling Alpine Resort
    • Towong Shire
    • Wangaratta Rural City
    • Wodonga City
    • Campaspe Shire
    • Greater Bendigo City
    • Greater Shepparton City
    • Loddon Shire
    • Moira Shire
    • Strathbogie Shire
    • Ararat Rural City
    • Colac Otway Shire
    • Corangamite Shire
    • Glenelg Shire
    • Moyne Shire
    • Pyrenees Shire
    • Southern Grampians Shire
    • Warrnambool City
    • Baw Baw Shire
    • Latrobe City
    • Mount Baw Baw Alpine Resort
    • South Gippsland Shire
    • Wellington Shire
    • Hindmarsh Shire
    • Horsham Rural City
    • Northern Grampians Shire
    • West Wimmera Shire
    • Yarriambiack Shire (south of the netting fence)

Reviewed 26 October 2021


Contact details

Emergency Management Branch

Was this page helpful?