Department of Health

Authorised food analysts

Key messages

  • An authorised analyst is a person authorised to carry out analyses for the purposes of the Food Act 1984 (the Act).
  • Analysts test food samples taken by Victorian Councils to ensure that food is safe and suitable for consumption and has been handled correctly.
  • A certificate of analysis, signed by an authorised analyst, can stand alone as sufficient evidence in a prosecution taken against a food business under the Act.

Section 30 of the Act provides that the Secretary of the Department of Health may authorise appropriately qualified persons to carry out analyses for the purposes of the Food Act 1984 (the Act). The secretary must maintain a list of authorised analysts, which is publicly available. The list of authorised analysts in Victoria is provided below.

The roles and responsibilities of authorised analysts are set out under section 31 of the Act. The primary responsibility is to test food samples taken in accordance with the Act by local council environmental health officers.

Analysts must be suitably qualified but must also have the ability to determine the appropriate analyses to be conducted on any food submitted, and to interpret and report the results in terms of compliance with Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (the Code) or the Act. This requires a sound knowledge of the requirements set out in the Code, and the requirements and offences set out in the Act. Information about becoming an authorised analyst is provided in the document: Guide for potential food analysts: How to apply for authorisation as an analyst under the Food Act 1984.

Authorised analysts play an important role in monitoring the safety, composition and truth in labelling of foods. Analyses are conducted to determine compliance with the Act and the Code (information about the Code is provided separately on this site).

Tests may include an assessment of:

  • food handling practices
  • microbiological safety
  • chemical residue levels
  • compliance with the mandatory declaration of allergens
  • composition, including the accuracy of label statements or claims (for example, nutrition information or ingredient lists)
  • a consumer complaint that a food is unsafe or contaminated

Applying to be authorised as an analyst

For information about how to apply for authorisation to be a food analyst, please see the document: Guide for potential food analysts: How to apply for authorisation as an analyst under the Food Act 1984.

Authorised food analysts

Authorised analyst Contact details Authorisation
Kashif Ahmed Symbio Laboratories
kahmed@symbiolabs.com.au
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.
Riddhi Apte BVAQ
riddhi.apte@bvaq.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Karen Bancroft Agrifood Technology
karen.bancroft@agrifood.com.au
Allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles.
Neil Bartlett Food Laboratories
neil@foodlabs.com.au
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Nadia Brooker BVAQ
Nadia.Brooker@bvaq.com
Allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles.
Dennis Cheang BVAQ
dennis.cheang@bvaq.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Zivka Cholich Chr Hansen Pty Ltd
auzich@chr-hansen.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Dean Clarke NMI
dean.clarke@measurement
.gov.au
Microbiological and allergenic/immunological analyses of food, substances and articles
Christine Cooke ALS Environmental
christine.cooke@alsglobal
.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Anna Du BVAQ
anna.du@bvaq.com
Microbiological analysis of food substances and articles.
Glen Fern Eurofins Food Testing Aus.
glenfern@eurofins.com
Chemical, physical, allergen and immunological analyses of food, substances and articles.
Doreen Fernandez Agrifood Technology
Doreen.Fernandez@agrifood.
com.au
Chemical analyses of food, substances and articles and allergen analyses.
Kanchana Gamage Eurofins Food Testing Aus.
kanchanagamage@eurofins.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Komal Gosain Eurofins Food Testing Aus.
komalgosain@eurofins.com
Microbiological analysis of food, substances and articles.
Matthew Greacen Agrifoods
matthew.greacen@agrifood.com.au 
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Allan Gunn BVAQ
allan.gunn@bvaq.com
Chemical, physical, allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles
Abraham Gut Microbiological Diagnostic Unit
Abraham.gut@unimelb.edu.au
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Georgia Hamilton   Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Selena Heaton Microbiological Diagnostic Unit
sheaton@unimelb.edu.au
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Manpreet Kalsi BVAQ
Manpreet.kalsi@bvaqu.com
Allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles.
Lee Kennedy ALS Life Sciences
lee.kennedy@ALSGlobal.com
Chemical and physical analyses of food, substances and articles
Karl Kusko ALS Global
Karl.Kusko@ALSGlobal.com
Chemical, physical, allergen and immunological analyses 
My-Yen Lam-Menz   Chemical and physical analyses of food, substances and articles
Julie Maczuga BVAQ
Julie.Maczuga@bvaq.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Anuradha Mani BVAQ
anuradha.mani@bvaq.com
Microbiological analysis of food, substances and articles.
Joe Matera ALS
joe.matera@alsglobal.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Vivienne Matthews BVAQ
vivienne.matthews@bvaq.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Karolina Mercoulia Microbiological Diagnostic Unit
dimovski@unimelb.edu.au
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.
Neil Menz   Chemical, physical and microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Yumi Owada BVAQ
Yumi.Owada@bvaq.com
Chemical, physical, allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles
Daxian (Jay) Pan BVAQ
jay.pan@bvaq.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.
Shruti Patel BVAQ
shruthi@bvaq.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.
Graeme Perret   Chemical, microbiological and physical analyses of food, substances and articles
Stefan Pittari   Chemical, physical, allergen and immunological analyses of food, substances and articles
Mary Ponce BVAQ
mary.ponce@bvaq.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.
Bina Rajesh BVAQ
Bina.Rajesh@bvaq.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Robert Rantino Agrifood Technology
Robert.Rantino@agrifood.com.au 
Chemical and physical analysis of food, substances and articles.
Melissa Richardson BVAQ
melissa.richardson@bvaq.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Agnes Tan tanagnes7@gmail.com Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
John Ward       Chemical, physical and microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Phillip Williams Symbio Laboratories
philwilliams@symbiolabs.com.au
Chemical, allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles
Somayeh (Sam) Yazdkhast Agrifood Technology
Somayeh.yazdkhast@agrifood.com.au
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.
Judy Zhang BVAQ
Judy.Zhang@bvaq.com
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

 

Reviewed 09 January 2023

Health.vic

Contact details

Food Safety Unit

Was this page helpful?