Department of Health

Key messages

  • An authorised analyst is a person authorised to carry out analyses for the purposes of the Food Act 1984 (the Act).
  • Analysts test food samples taken by Victorian Councils to ensure that food is safe and suitable for consumption and has been handled correctly.
  • A certificate of analysis, signed by an authorised analyst, can stand alone as sufficient evidence in a prosecution taken against a food business under the Act.

Section 30 of the Act provides that the Secretary of the Department of Health may authorise appropriately qualified persons to carry out analyses for the purposes of the Food Act 1984 (the Act). The secretary must maintain a list of authorised analysts, which is publicly available. The list of authorised analysts in Victoria is provided below.

The roles and responsibilities of authorised analysts are set out under section 31 of the Act. The primary responsibility is to test food samples taken in accordance with the Act by local council environmental health officers.

Analysts must be suitably qualified but must also have the ability to determine the appropriate analyses to be conducted on any food submitted, and to interpret and report the results in terms of compliance with Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (the Code) or the Act. This requires a sound knowledge of the requirements set out in the Code, and the requirements and offences set out in the Act. Information about becoming an authorised analyst is provided in the document: Guide for potential food analysts: How to apply for authorisation as an analyst under the Food Act 1984.

Authorised analysts play an important role in monitoring the safety, composition and truth in labelling of foods. Analyses are conducted to determine compliance with the Act and the Code (information about the Code is provided separately on this site).

Tests may include an assessment of:

  • food handling practices
  • microbiological safety
  • chemical residue levels
  • compliance with the mandatory declaration of allergens
  • composition, including the accuracy of label statements or claims (for example, nutrition information or ingredient lists)
  • a consumer complaint that a food is unsafe or contaminated

Applying to be authorised as an analyst

For information about how to apply for authorisation to be a food analyst, please see the document: Guide for potential food analysts: How to apply for authorisation as an analyst under the Food Act 1984.

Authorised food analysts

Authorised analystAuthorisation

Kashif Ahmed

Contact:
Symbio Laboratories
kahmed@symbiolabs.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.

Riddhi Apte

Contact:
Microbiological Diagnostic Unit
riddhi.apte@unimelb.edu.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Karen Bancroft

Contact:
kaz9asha@hotmail.com

Allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles.

Neil Bartlett

Contact:
Food Laboratories
neil@foodlabs.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Nadia Brooker

Contact:
BVAQ
Nadia.Brooker@bvaq.com

Allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles.

Dennis Cheang

Contact:
BVAQ
dennis.cheang@bvaq.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Zivka Cholich

Contact:
Chr Hansen Pty Ltd
auzich@chr-hansen.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Dean Clarke

Contact:
NMI
dean.clarke@measurement
.gov.au

Microbiological and allergenic/immunological analyses of food, substances and articles

Diana Coelho

Contact:
Agrifood Technology
diana.coelho@agrifood.com.au

Chemical analysis of food, substances and articles.

Christine Cooke

Contact:
ALS Environmental
christine.cooke@alsglobal
.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Anna Du

Contact:
BVAQ
anna.du@bvaq.com

Microbiological analysis of food substances and articles.

Glen Fern

Contact:
Eurofins Food Testing Aus.
glenfern@eurofins.com

Chemical, physical, allergen and immunological analyses of food, substances and articles.

Doreen Fernandez

Contact:
Agrifood Technology
Doreen.Fernandez@agrifood.
com.au

Chemical analyses of food, substances and articles and allergen analyses.

Kanchana Gamage

Contact:
Eurofins Food Testing Aus.
kanchanagamage@eurofins.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Navdeep Ghotra

Contact:
Agrifood Technology
Navdeep.ghotra@agrifood.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Komal Gosain

Contact:
NATA
komalgosain@nata.com.au

Microbiological analysis of food, substances and articles.
Matthew GreacenMicrobiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Allan Gunn

Contact:
BVAQ
allan.gunn@bvaq.com

Chemical, physical, allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles

Abraham Gut

Contact:
Microbiological Diagnostic Unit
Abraham.gut@unimelb.edu.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Georgia HamiltonMicrobiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Khalid Haydar

Contact:
Eurofins
khalidhaydar@eurofins.comau
Microbiological analysis of food, substances and articles.

Selena Heaton

Contact:
Microbiological Diagnostic Unit
sheaton@unimelb.edu.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Manpreet Kalsi

Contact:
BVAQ
Manpreet.kalsi@bvaqu.com

Allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles.

Lee Kennedy

Contact:
ALS Life Sciences
lee.kennedy@ALSGlobal.com

Chemical and physical analyses of food, substances and articles

Karl Kusko

Contact:
ALS Global
Karl.Kusko@ALSGlobal.com

Chemical, physical, allergen and immunological analyses
My-Yen Lam-MenzChemical and physical analyses of food, substances and articles

Tirto Lawira

Contact:
BVAQ
tirto.lawira@bvaq.com

Microbiological analysis of food, substances and articles.

Haiyan Li

Contact:
Laboratory Solutions
haiyan.li@labsolutions.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Julie Maczuga

Contact:
BVAQ
Julie.Maczuga@bvaq.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Anuradha Mani

Contact:
BVAQ
anuradha.mani@bvaq.com

Microbiological analysis of food, substances and articles.

Joe Matera

Contact:
ALS
joe.matera@alsglobal.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Vivienne Matthews

Contact:
BVAQ
vivienne.matthews@bvaq.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Karolina Mercoulia

Contact:
Microbiological Diagnostic Unit
dimovski@unimelb.edu.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.
Neil MenzChemical, physical and microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Yumi Owada

Contact:
BVAQ
Yumi.Owada@bvaq.com

Chemical, physical, allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles

Daxian (Jay) Pan

Contact:
BVAQ
jay.pan@bvaq.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.

Shruti Patel

Contact:
BVAQ
shruthi@bvaq.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.
Graeme PerretChemical, microbiological and physical analyses of food, substances and articles
Stefan PittariChemical, physical, allergen and immunological analyses of food, substances and articles

Mary Ponce

Contact:
BVAQ
mary.ponce@bvaq.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.

Bina Rajesh

Contact:
BVAQ
Bina.Rajesh@bvaq.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Robert Rantino

Contact:
Agrifood Technology
Robert.Rantino@agrifood.com.au

Chemical, physical, allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles.

Melissa Richardson

Contact:
BVAQ
melissa.richardson@bvaq.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Di Shen

Contact:
Merieux Neurosciences
di.shen@mxns.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
Candida Showler

Contact:
Agrifood Technology
candida.showler@agrifood.com.au
Chemical and physical analysis of food, substances and articles.

John Speers

Contact:
Eurofins
johnspeers@eurofins.com

Chemical and physical analysis of food, substances and articles.

Agnes Tan

Contact:
tanagnes7@gmail.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles
John WardChemical, physical and microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Phillip Williams

Contact:
Symbio Laboratories
philwilliams@symbiolabs.com.au

Chemical, allergen and immunological analysis of food, substances and articles

Somayeh (Sam) Yazdkhast

Contact:
Agrifood Technology
Somayeh.yazdkhast@agrifood.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.

Judy Zhang

Contact:
BVAQ
Judy.Zhang@bvaq.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Reviewed 20 December 2023

Health.vic

Contact details

Food Safety Unit

Was this page helpful?