Department of Health

There are six Maternal and Child Health Program Standards. Each Standard has four components:

  1. Statement of rationale – outlines why the Standard has been included.
  2. Criteria – each criterion contains a number of elements outlining how the Service demonstrates compliance with, and performance relevant to, the standard.
  3. Performance criteria – strategies, procedures and processes that need to be in place to meet the criteria.
  4. Examples of evidence – examples of how the criteria may be met.

The six standards are not mutually exclusive. Elements of each standard and the underlying criteria within the standards are closely linked.


Policies and standards
Date published
08 Sep 2019
62 pages
Department of Health and Human Services

Reviewed 09 September 2019

Was this page helpful?