Department of Health

New ministerial advisory committee to help shape mental health reform

Experts from Victoria’s mental health sector will provide specialist advice on rebuilding and shaping the state’s mental health and wellbeing system, in line with the recommendations from the Royal Commission into Victoria’s Mental Health System.


The Mental Health Ministerial Advisory Committee (MHMAC) is chaired by Steve Dimopoulos MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Mental Health. The Committee met for the first time earlier this week.

The MHMAC’s role will be to identify and provide advice on emerging issues and best practice nationally and internationally in mental healthcare, shaping the reforms and identifying opportunities for further collaboration and innovation.

The Committee includes representatives of the Victorian Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation, Transgender Victoria, Foundation House, Turning Point, The Victorian Mental Illness Awareness Council, Tandem, Thorne Harbour Health and the Victorian Multicultural Commission, and other peak bodies.

The MHMAC will be supported by a new sub-committee, the Interdisciplinary Clinical Advisory Group, chaired by Forensicare CEO Dr Margaret Grigg.

The ICAG has a broad membership comprising some of Victoria’s leading mental health clinicians specialising in CALD and Aboriginal Victorian health, LGBTIQ+, disability and homelessness.

The ICAG will provide expert advice on systems, services and processes and ensure the needs, strengths and interests of Victoria’s diverse communities are represented.

Download a list of MHMAC and ICAG members.External Link

The ICAG will work alongside the existing Lived Experience Advisory Group (LEAG), which is made up of people who have lived experience of mental illness and psychological distress, and the carers, family members and supporters of people with lived experience.

The LEAG is currently being refreshed to better facilitate new partnership approaches with lived experience. This refresh includes a review of its Terms of Reference and membership.

A list of LEAG members will be published once it is finalised.

Reviewed 23 March 2022


Contact Us

Mental Health and Wellbeing Division

Was this page helpful?