Department of Health

New local action groups to strengthen community inclusion and connection


The Victorian Government has launched a new program to support good mental health and wellbeing in local communities.

The program will see Social Inclusion Action Groups (SIAGs) established in local government areas across Victoria.

The new groups are a flagship prevention reform recommended by the Royal Commission into Victoria’s Mental Health System.

The first five social inclusion action groups will be established over the next year by:

  • Frankston City Council
  • Benalla Rural City Council
  • Mansfield Shire Council
  • Rural City of Wangaratta
  • Latrobe City Council

The Mental Health and Wellbeing Promotion Office within the Department of Health will provide coordination and support to the new SIAGs.

This includes providing flexible funding for initiatives that support local community participation, inclusion and engagement.

SIAGs will see community members and leaders across local government areas working together to deliver initiatives that boost social inclusion and connection.

Groups will be made up of community members and local leaders. This includes people with lived experience, Aboriginal people and those from LGBTIQ+, disability and culturally diverse communities.

Further Social Inclusion Action Groups are due to be up and running across the state by 2025.

Read more about Social Inclusion Action Groups.

Reviewed 20 October 2022

Was this page helpful?