Department of Health

Finalists announced for the medical research awards

Image of a man using microscope

The finalists for the 2022 Premier’s Awards for Health and Medical Research have been selected.

Established in 1995 by the Victorian Government in partnership with the Australian Society for Medical Research, the awards recognise the exceptional contributions of Victoria’s mid and early-career health and medical researchers.

It’s a chance to highlight the breadth of research being done to improve the lives of people in Victoria and around the world, and to celebrate rising stars and future scientific leaders.

There are 14 finalists across the five categories: Basic Science Researcher, Clinical Researcher, Health Services Researcher, Public Health Researcher, and Aboriginal Researcher.

Congratulations to the finalists:

  • Dr Jaithri Ananthapavan
  • Dr Shawana Andrews
  • Dr Owen Bradfield
  • Dr Kathryn Connelly
  • Dr Bradley Gardiner
  • Dr Kate Hodgson
  • Dr Courtney Ierano
  • Dr Emily Lelliott
  • Dr Jedidiah Morton
  • Dr Elizabeth (Liz) Paratz
  • Dr Sajal Kumar Saha
  • Dr Winnie Tan
  • Dr Jane Tiller
  • Dr Jinxin Zhao

The award winners for each category will be announced at an awards ceremony on 22 May 2023.

Each recipient will receive $5,000, and an additional $15,000 is granted to the winner of the Premier's Excellence award.

Learn more about health and medical research.

Reviewed 12 May 2023


Was this page helpful?