Department of Health

Chairs announced for mental health Interim Regional Bodies


Expressions of interest are now open for members of Victoria's eight new mental health Interim Regional Bodies, following the successful appointment of the eight Chairs.

The Interim Regional Bodies are a recommendation of the Royal Commission into Victoria's Mental Health System. Through local engagement, the Interim Regional Bodies will assist and advise the Victorian Government about the needs of their local communities, as it plans for and delivers mental health and wellbeing services.

The Victorian Government has announced the names of the eight Chairs who will lead the Interim Regional Bodies, and the recruiting of the remaining members.

The appointed Chairs are:

  • Western metropolitan region – Jim Williamson
  • North East metropolitan region – Malcolm Hopwood
  • South East metropolitan region – Tass Mousaferiadis
  • Loddon Mallee region – Paul O’Neill
  • Hume region – Emma Reid
  • Gippsland region – Kellie O’Callaghan
  • Grampians region – Melissa Field
  • South West region – Kathy Wilson

Members of the Interim Regional Bodies will support the Chairs in building relationships with service providers and establishing strong community participation processes, such as community advisory committees.

Each Interim Regional Body will include at least one person with lived experience of mental illness or psychological distress and at least one person with lived experience as a family member or carer.

The Interim Regional Bodies should reflect the rich diversity of each region, and applications from Victorians from diverse backgrounds are warmly encouraged.

Expressions of interest close on Friday 15 April. The recruitment process is being managed by Fisher Leadership, and more information is available on the Boards Victoria websiteExternal Link .

Reviewed 24 March 2022


Contact Us

Mental Health and Wellbeing Division

Was this page helpful?