Department of Health

Coronavirus update - Red Zones and travel permits

Anyone who has been in or visited the Blue Mountains or Wollongong regions from 27 December will have until 11.59pm on the 31 December to enter Victoria.


Anyone who has been in or visited the Blue Mountains or Wollongong regions from 27 December will have until 11.59pm on the 31 December to enter Victoria.

Anyone intending to return to Victoria from these areas between midnight tonight and 11.59pm on 31 December must apply for a new travel permit through Service Victoria, must get tested within 24 hours of returning to Victoria, and must self-quarantine at home for 14 days from when they last left the region.

Nobody who has visited these areas will be able to enter Victoria after December 31.

Anyone currently in Victoria, who has been in Wollongong or the Blue Mountains since 27 December is urged to get tested and stay at home until a negative test result is received.

Testing sites remain at all terminals at Melbourne Airport.

The Department of Health and Human Services will contact each returning traveller and provide them with further information about their quarantine.

Victoria’s border with New South Wales remains closed and no one who has been in the Northern Beaches area, Greater Sydney, and the NSW Central Coast, and after midnight tomorrow night Blue Mountains and Wollongong, is allowed to come into Victoria.

Anyone arriving at the road border from those impacted areas will be turned away and will have to find alternative accommodation in New South Wales. 

The border restrictions are reviewed every day based on public health advice and we're working closely with NSW Health to monitor the situation closely. The situation is highly dynamic and the red zone may continue to change at short notice – therefore Victorians are strongly advised not to travel to New South Wales as you may not be able to re-enter without undertaking hotel quarantine for 14 days.

These new border measures have been introduced in response to 18 new cases of COVID-19 being reported in NSW, including six from a new cluster in the inner-west of Sydney. 

Anyone found to have entered Victoria without a valid permit of exemption may be subject to penalties in excess of $1652 and if you intentionally provide false information on your permit application, you may be issued a fine of $1652 or face a penalty of up to $9913.

The rest of regional NSW is designated as a “green zone.”

If you hold a Green Zone permit, your permit is still valid and you will not be required to apply for a new permit. However, Green Zone permits that were issued for the Central Coast are no longer valid, as the area is now a red zone. 

Residents in border communities still do not require a permit, however you must travel with your driver’s licence or other valid photo ID with your address details.

Victoria has established a hard road border with NSW and Victoria Police has established check points along the border to ensure only people with valid permits, residents in border communities and those with eligible exemptions are allowed into Victoria.

As always, it remains vitally important that any Victorians with any COVID-19 symptoms, no matter how mild, stay home and get tested.

Testing site details, including opening hours, are available from our Where to get tested page.

Further information about the wastewater testing program can be found on our Wastewater monitoring page.

Information regarding COVID-19 is available at the Department of Health and Human Services website or by calling 1800 675 398. 

Reviewed 29 December 2020


Was this page helpful?