State Government Victoria Australia Department of Health header
State Government Victoria
Victorian Government Health Information
Health Home
Main A to Z Index | Site Map | About Health  

June 2019

Group of women with awards jpeg

Royal Women’s Hospital award winners Tamara Heckle, Anna Di Cosmo, Cheryl De Vera, Justine Caparaz, Misty Charles, Abbey Tuckett, Danielle Kallianiotis and Alexandra Beckingsale.

4 people with awards jpeg

Eastern Health award winners Rebekah Howard, Michaela Reiss, Tanya Frost and Ahmed Abdelmegeed.

Awards honour nurses and midwives

Victorian public healthcare services have celebrated the 2019 international day of the midwife and international nurses’ day.

An awards presentation held between the two days by the Royal Women’s Hospital honoured nurses and midwives who had gone above and beyond the day-to-day activities of their role to provide exceptional care and leadership.

Chief midwifery and nursing officer and director of nursing for neonatal services at The Women’s Laura Bignell presented the awards.

She said nurses and midwives were the heart and soul of the hospital.

‘Our nurses and midwives are some of the most dedicated professionals in healthcare, providing comfort, care and compassion to women and newborns at their most vulnerable.’

Ms Bignell said the awards were a way of acknowledging the fantastic contribution made by every nurse and midwife at the hospital.

‘Our nurses and midwives come from diverse backgrounds, with different experiences and expertise, but they all strive to provide exceptional care that supports women physically, emotionally and psychologically.’

Award recipients were recognised for their work with The Women’s community, exceptional clinical skills, ongoing passion for the profession, outstanding communication skills, flair for innovation and ability to create exceptional experiences even when the ‘going gets tough’.

Award recipients were:

•       Cheryl De Vera – Dr Laurence J. Murton memorial – for skills gained in family-centred nursing care to neonates;

•       Tamara Heckle – Edward Rowden White award – to an operating suite nurse who demonstrates excellence and outstanding commitment to perioperative services;

•       Anna Di Cosmo – Jean Smith prize for excellence in women’s health – to a nurse who demonstrates excellence in women’s health nursing;

•       Alexandra Beckingsale – Jean Smith prize for excellence in midwifery – to a midwife who demonstrates excellence in midwifery;

•       Justine Caparaz – Mabel Kimpton prize – to the staff member deemed to be the best student in the neonatal intensive care course;

•       Misty Charles and Danielle Kallianiotis – Stewart Prize – excellence in postgraduate nursing awarded to the best beginner practitioner nurse;

•       Abbey Tuckett – Stewart Prize – excellence in postgraduate midwifery – to the best beginner practitioner midwife.

Eastern Health’s nursing and midwifery excellence awards acknowledged the supportive culture of learning, excellence in practice and commitment to patients and the community.

Recipients were:

•       Maroondah Hospital ED’s Michaela Reiss – Penny Newsome medal – graduate award;

•       Box Hill Hospital paediatrics ward’s Ahmed Abdelmegeed – De Voil medal – post graduate award;

•       Wantirna Health’s Geoff Brown – Heather Beanland preceptor award;

•       Upton House adult mental health inpatient service’s Rebekah Howard – Deakin University chair in nursing research award.

•       Box Hill Hospital acute stroke nurse Tanya Frost – chief nursing and midwifery officer award.