State Government Victoria Australia Department of Health header
State Government Victoria
Victorian Government Health Information
Health Home
Main A to Z Index | Site Map | About Health  

February 2021

Group of people in hospital corridor jpeg
Box Hill Hospital stroke research fellow Peter Park, acute stroke nurses Karen Stephens and Tanya Frost, director of neurosciences Helen Dewey, stroke neurologist Phillip Choi and registrar Tessa Busch.

Stroke team honoured

Box Hill Hospital’s stroke team has been honoured for achieving a median ‘door to needle’ time of under 60 minutes – one of only two hospitals in Australia to do so.

The team received the Australian Stroke Coalition quality stroke service merit award.

This award acknowledges the efforts made by the service and its dedication to enabling Eastern Health to become a leader in stroke care around Australia.

The award recognises speed of treatment in the emergency department at the point at which a patient arrives – door – to when they receive thrombolytic – needle or clot-busting treatment.

The achievement is the result of efforts by the emergency department team, medical imaging team and the acute stroke unit staff, all of whom are pivotal in the care of each stroke patient.

It salutes the collaborative approach by all the clinical staff at Eastern Health.