State Government Victoria Australia Department of Health header
State Government Victoria
Victorian Government Health Information
Health Home
Main A to Z Index | Site Map | About Health  

February 2019

Professor Andrew Way jpeg
Professor Andrew Way

Captain Ian Young jpeg

Captain Ian Young

Professor Kathryn North jpegProfessor Kathryn North

Professor Sharon Lewin jpegProfessor Sharon Lewin

Dr Werner Bischof jpegDr Werner Bischof

Health sector achievers receive honours

Alfred Health Chief Executive Officer Andrew Way has become a member (AM) of the Order of Australia (general division).

Professor Way’s award in the Australia Day 2019 honours list recognised his significant service to medicine through his administrative and advisory roles.

He was honoured for his leadership in fostering partnerships within the health research and education community and intensifying the clinical research effort at The Alfred precinct.

And a further five Alfred Health clinicians were recognised in the honours list.

Professor Catriona McLean became an officer (AO) in the general division of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to medicine in the field of academic and clinical neuropathology and as a role model and mentor.

So too did Professor John McNeil for distinguished service to medicine in the fields of clinical epidemiology and cardiovascular research, and to public health.

Three Alfred Health staff became members (AM) in the general division of the Order of Australia.

Dr Margaret Hellard was honoured for significant service to medicine as an infectious diseases and public health physician and research scientist.

HIV service director Professor Jennifer Hoy was recognised for significant service to medicine and to medical education in the field of infectious diseases.

Surgical services program director Associate Professor Bill Johnson’s award was for significant service to medicine in the field of endocrinology, as an educator and mentor, and to surf lifesaving.

Austin Health pharmacist Jim Siderov received an Order of Australia (AM) award for his service to oncology pharmacy as a clinician and to professional associations.

Mr Siderov has been working at Austin Health since the 1980s and started as a senior pharmacist for cancer services at Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital.

Frankston Hospital orthopaedic surgeon and Royal Australian Navy Captain Ian Young has been appointed a member in the Military Division of the Order of Australia (AM).

The honour is in recognition of his exceptional service in the delivery of operational medical services to Australian Defence Force personnel on Operations RELEX, PADANG ASSIST, RENDER SAFE, OKRA and SLIPPER.

At Frankston Hospital, Captain Young sees patients in outpatient clinics and has regular operating lists.

Murdoch Children’s Research Institute director Kathryn North was appointed Companion to the Order of Australia.

This honour recognised Professor North’s national and international leadership in genomic medicine, her contribution to the advancement of genetic, neurological and child health and mentorship of young researchers.

Doherty Institute director Sharon Lewin was appointed an officer (AO) of the Order of Australia.

Professor Lewin was honoured for distinguished service to medical research, and to education and clinical care, in the field of infectious diseases, particularly HIV and AIDS.

Dental Health Services Victoria specialist care clinical advisor Werner Bischof has been named a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his significant services to dentistry and professional dental organisations.

Dr Bischof was recognised for his outstanding work in championing dental health and influencing those entering the profession through education.

Seven paramedics and volunteer members have been awarded the Ambulance Service Medal:

•       David Booth is the driver standards co-ordinator at Ambulance Victoria;

•       Kathryn Eastwood is a MICA paramedic from Narre Warren North;

•       Rob Fergusson is eastern metropolitan clinical manager;

•       Robyn Kelly of Mitta Mitta has been an ambulance community officer (volunteer) for more than two decades;

•       Nick Roder is a MICA flight paramedic educator and one of Ambulance Victoria’s leading MICA flight paramedics;

•       Ross Salathiel is Gippsland region paramedic clinical support officer;

•       Katy Southern has led the co-ordination and development of Ambulance Victoria’s involvement in the Pride March since 2013.