State Government Victoria Australia Department of Health header
State Government Victoria
Victorian Government Health Information
Health Home
Main A to Z Index | Site Map | About Health  

February 2019

Image jpeg
Professor Michael Parker. (Picture: Peter Casamento)

Funds for cancer drug discovery facility

The Australian Cancer Research Foundation will provide $2 million to fund a facility for innovative cancer drug discovery at the Bio21 Institute at the University of Melbourne.

The facility’s chief investigators – Professor Michael Parker and Dr David Ascher of Bio21, Professor Rick Pearson of the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and Professor John Silke of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute – represent some of Victoria’s major cancer research institutions.

‘The ACRF funding will make it possible to create a facility that houses some of the most cutting-edge structural biology instruments and technologies to cater for the cancer research community in the Melbourne Biomedical Precinct and beyond,’ Professor Parker said.

‘It will provide our partners with powerful tools to develop and deliver new cancer drugs to patients.’

The Bio21 Institute of Molecular Science and Biotechnology aims to understand human health and disease at the molecular level and improve patient outcomes through biotechnology.

It is home to more than 700 research scientists, making it one of the largest biotechnology research centres in Australia.

The Australian Cancer Research Foundation (ACRF) supports Australian cancer research to end all types of cancer.

It funds cutting-edge technology and infrastructure to speed up discoveries in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment.

The Melbourne Biomedical Precinct in Parkville has more than 25 health service, research and academic partners, making it one of the world’s largest life science research clusters and Australia’s largest research and higher education teaching precinct.

Partners include Bio21, the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre, the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, the University of Melbourne, Cancer Therapeutics CRC (CTx), CSL, CSIRO, Monash Institute of Pharmacological Sciences and Melbourne Health.