State Government Victoria Australia Department of Health header
State Government Victoria
Victorian Government Health Information
Health Home
Main A to Z Index | Site Map | About Health  

August 2019

Group of 5 people jpeg
Royal Melbourne Hospital Buchanan Prize winners Mya Cubitt, Emma West, Lisa Walker, Amy McAllister and Alex Paspaliaris.

Prize for RMH ED doctors

Royal Melbourne Hospital emergency department doctors have taken home the Buchanan Prize two years in a row.

The prize is named for Dr Peter Buchanan, one of the founders of the Australasian College of Emergency Medicine (ACEM).

It is presented to the highest scoring doctor to complete a final oral and written exam at the end of a five-year training program in the practice of emergency medicine.

Hundreds of doctors across Australia and New Zealand take the exam.

RMH emergency trainee Amy McAllister won the Buchanan Prize last year and Lisa Walker this year.

And they have company.

Mya Cubitt won the award in 2013 and Alex Paspaliaris in 2001.

The Royal Melbourne’s director of emergency medical training Emma West won the prize in 2007.

‘We do set the bar high and we work closely with the candidates going through the exam to support them,’ Dr West said.

‘I’m very proud of Amy and Lisa’s achievements.’

Both Dr Walker and Dr McAllister were drawn to working in emergency medicine because of the daily challenge and the team environment.

‘Every day is different and comes with new challenges and different patients,’ Dr Walker said.

‘No day is the same.

‘We choose emergency medicine because we are passionate about critical care.’