textual image stating 'Department of Health, Victoria, Australia'

2013 Victorian Public Healthcare Awards celebrate the best of the best in healthcare

At the 2013 Victorian Public Healthcare Awards gala ceremony the State’s best and brightest received awards in categories including patient centred-care, healthcare innovation, health leadership and the Premier’s health service of the year, the highest honour of the Awards program.

The overall reason we have outstanding healthcare in this state is our workforce. .... By celebrating the outstanding achievements of the finalists and winners here tonight, we set a benchmark for what is possible, and what can be achieved when exceptional leadership, professionalism and dedication come together.

Minister for Health, the Hon David Davis MP

The Premier of Victoria, the Hon Dr Denis Napthine was unable to attend the ceremony but Minister Davis, the Minister for Mental Health, the Hon Mary Wooldridge and the Secretary of the Department of Health, Dr Pradeep Philip, presented the 2013 winners with their awards.

Congratulations to the 2013 finalists and winners

Healthcare Innovation Awards

Optimising the health status of Victorians
Gold winner Alfred Health Antimicrobial Stewardship: Improving the quality of antimicrobial prescribing
Silver winner Orbost Regional Health A healthy start to life - the early years approach
Highly commended Diabetes Australia- Victoria The Life! Helping you prevent diabetes, heart disease and stroke program
Excellence in supporting self-managed healthcare
Gold winner North Yarra Community Health Leaping the exercise paradox for at risk consumers
Silver winner Monash Health Oral health service access
Highly commended Western Health An aquatic approach to balance retraining for falls prevention: The Ai Chi based group ‘Aquabalance’
Excellence in person-centred care
Gold winner St Vincent's Hospital Melbourne Nocturnal in-centre haemodialysis - the paradigm shift
Silver winner Paediatric Integrated Cancer Service A state-wide long term follow-up program where survivors of childhood cancer are the focus, and their future the goal
Highly commended Western Health Global mealtime guide
Excellence in quality healthcare
Gold winner Melbourne Health Joint replacement surgery reviews conducted by physiotherapists: a safe and effective model
Silver winner The Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health and Bendigo Health Victorian Stroke Telemedicine Bendigo Project
Highly commended Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre Investigating practices relating to malnutrition in Victorian cancer services
Excellence in service provision
Gold winner Gippsland Lakes Community Health Active Lorikeets: early intervention paediatric allied health services
Silver winner Kyabram and District Health Service End of Life Care Project
Highly commended St Vincent's Hospital Melbourne Supported conversation volunteers
Optimising healthcare through e-health & communications technology
Gold winner Latrobe Community Health Service Mobile wound care
Silver winner Alfred Health Bridging the patient specimen labelling gap using positive patient identification for blood collection
Highly commended Austin Health E-queuing at Austin Health Specialist Clinics

Minister’s Awards

Outstanding achievement by an individual or team in healthcare
Winner Austin Health Wellness and Supportive Care Team
Highly commended Banyule Community Health Community Programs, Aboriginal Health Team
Highly commended Melbourne Health Royal Melbourne Hospital Code Stroke Team
Outstanding achievement by an individual or team in mental healthcare
Winner Ballarat Health Services Child and Youth Mental Health Service Redesign Demonstration Project
Highly commended Monash Health Early in Life Mental Health Service
Highly commended Northern Health Achieving an improvement in mental healthcare - a collaborative approach
Private hospital excellence
Winner Diaverum Pty Ltd North Melbourne Dialysis Clinic
Highly commended Brunswick Private Hospital Brunswick Private Hospital
Highly commended Cabrini Health Neuro-oncology Service

Health Lifetime Achievement Award

Health Leaders’ Awards

Premier's Award for advancing healthcare – putting patients first
Winner Alfred Health Out of the dark: timely quality care - After Hours Working Group
Highly commended Mercy Public Hospitals Inc Maternal Fetal Medicine Centre
Highly commended Western Region Health Centre Consumer Led Advance Statement Project Team
Minister for Health's Award for achieving a highly capable & engaged workforce
Winner Austin Health Nurse Endoscopy Service Initiation Team
Highly commended Alfred Health The Allied Health Assistant Leadership Team
Highly commended Alfred Health & Monash Health Advanced Musculoskeletal Physiotherapy Competency Team
Highly commended Dental Health Services Victoria Indigenous DA Trainee Program
Minister for Mental Health's Award for delivering innovative alcohol & drug or mental healthcare
Winner Barwon Health Transformational recovery mentoring initiative
Highly commended Melbourne Health Northern Area Mental Health Service: Our Time playgroup
Highly commended Rumbalara Aboriginal Cooperative Ltd Rumbalara Traditional Healing Centre
Secretary's Award for improving patient outcomes and patient experience
Winner Bendigo Community Health Services Dr Ken Armstrong
Highly commended Melbourne Health Closing the Gap film team: Julia Blackshaw, Georgina Hanna and Dean Heta
Highly commended Western Health The SMART Clinic - a SMART partnership in managing palliative care patients

Premier’s Health Service of the Year Awards

Primary health service of the year
Winner Western Region Health Centre
Highly commended Banyule Community Health
Highly commended EACH Social and Community Health
Rural health service of the year
Winner Rochester & Elmore District Health Service
Highly commended East Wimmera Health Service
Highly commended Moyne Health Services
Regional health service of the year
Winner Barwon Health
Highly commended Ballarat Health Services
Highly commended Northeast Health Wangaratta
Metropolitan health service of the year
Winner Eastern Health
Highly commended Austin Health
Highly commended Western Health