textual image stating 'Department of Health, Victoria, Australia'

Nurse Practitioner authorisations under section 14A DPCS Act 1981

From 1 July 2010, Nurse practitioners (NP) in Victoria will have a notation on their national registration indicating a category or broad area of practice. This notation is for the purpose of Drugs, Poisons and Controlled Substances Act 1981 (DPCS) authorisations when they are working as NP within Victoria.

The notation is in one of the following eight areas:

Pursuant to section 14A(1) of the DPCS Act, the Minister for Health has approved a list of a Schedule 2, 3, 4 and 8 drugs or medicines (referred to as poisons or classes of poisons in the DPCS legislation) for each NP notation category.

A NP with a notation for that category can, whilst practicing as NP in Victoria lawfully prescribe the medicines on that list (defines as “obtain and to have in his or her possession and to use, sell or supply” in the DPCS legislation). The approved lists are available from the table below.

Each list is very broad and reflects the potential prescribing practice across a variety of clinical domains, different service models and settings and across the continuum of care for that practice area.

The scope of an individual NPs prescribing practice is supported by their employers clinical governance framework. As registered nurses, NP practice will also be guided by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia’s professional practice framework that details how professional decision-making within a sound risk management, professional, regulatory and legislative framework is to be managed.

Approved NP lists

Acute & Supportive Care (401kb, pdf)

Care of the older person or Aged care (37kb, pdf)

Critical care (46kb, pdf)

Maternity Care (36kb, pdf)

Mental health Care (34kb, pdf)

Paediatric Care (44kb, pdf)

Perioperative Care (36kb, pdf)

Primary Care (51kb, pdf)

For more information about Nurse Practitioners, go to: